The periods of re-registration for Temporary Protected Status (TPS) under the designations of El Salvador, Haiti, Honduras, Nepal, Nicaragua and Sudan is extending from 60 days to 18 months, the Department of Homeland Security (DHS) announced on Friday.

The department said that eligible citizens from those six countries may continue to register at any time within the 18 months of the designation’s duration.

The designation under Haiti had to end on August, 2024. It will run through that date. The only change is that the beneficiaries from this country whose period of registration was closed on January 26, 2023, may keep applying until that date, the site explained.

The re-registration under Salvador will remain open through March 9, 2025 whereas it expired on June 21, 2023.

April 19, 2025 is the date through which beneficiaries from Sudan may continue to register, according to the DHS’s alert. The initial registration period was limited to August 21 2023. However, the extension of the registration under Sudan designation starts on (next) October 20, 2023.  

Eligible citizens from Nepal may keep re-register until the last day of the designation under this country, which is June 24, 2025. In fact, the period of re-registration for TPS under the designation of Nepal had to initially run through October 24 to December 23, 2023.

The extension of the re-registration under Honduras and Nicaragua will remain possible through July 5, 2025. The beginning of the period of re-registration under the designation of these two Latin-American countries was November 6, 2023 and would last three months.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *